Myrtlewood Golf Club Reviews

The Myrtle Beach Golf Insider is a golf course review site developed for golfers, by golfers. Myrtle Beach National's King's North, South Creek & West Course courses are three of dozens of area layouts that receive reviews based on course conditions, playability and customer service. Below is a sampling of Myrtle Beach National's most recent reviews.

PineHills Reviews

OVERALL SCORE: [8.3]

  • Tees:
    [8]
  • Greens:
    [8]
  • Fairways:
    [8]
  • Proshop:
    [9]
  • Grill:
    [8]
  • Staff:
    [9]
Based on 323 reviews »

Latest Reviews from Myrtle Beach Golf Insider



Seth on 03/11/2018:
" I play for the high school golf team and i thought that this was an amazing course and the guy who helped us out (Anthony) was an amazing person and really nice and the service there was really nice as was the course was beautiful. "
OVERALL SCORE: [10]
Mike on 11/11/2017:
" I have played here many times and it's always enjoyable. "
OVERALL SCORE: [6]
Lee on 11/11/2017:
" One of my favorite Myrtle Beach courses, I could play this course every day and never be disappointed. A minor amount of fungus on a couple of greens can be expected this time of year. All in all an outstanding value and great to play. "
OVERALL SCORE: [10]
brian on 11/04/2017:
" Was told that they had just over seeded and could not tell. "
OVERALL SCORE: [10]
Jim on 08/10/2016:
" Attempted to play this course in the early afternoon. The rate was much higher than any of the other courses in the area, $58.00. But what's worse is the treatment outsiders receive from the staff in the pro shop. Very rude very pompous and obvious they don't want outsiders playing their course. It's to bad because up until a couple years ago my kids and I would sink several hundreds of dollars into playing the course while staying at Myrtle Wood for a couple weeks. Not anymore. After the 2nd year being treated like garbage by the pro shop staff we will no longer spend any money there. There are too many options close by. "
OVERALL SCORE: [6]
Reid on 06/23/2016:
" Called pro shop for tee time on Palmetto course. Shop said greens 80% heeled after maintenance. Very disappointed after we loaded carts and were sent to Pine Hills course. I tried to politely voice my concern, but was totally ignored. Would have never played Pine Hills with so many other choices for less money and better layout. Greens in horrible condition. Fairways and tee boxes very nice, but greens not even close to 80% heeled. "
OVERALL SCORE: [6]
Timothy on 02/03/2016:
" The course was wet, so cart path only. The staff were pleasant to deal with which makes for a nice day. It's very wet so it plays long. The greens were a little sluggish but playable. The only thing that was negative was the guy SMOKING in the crowd at the bag drop, I don't think that the staff should allow smoking near the customers. "
OVERALL SCORE: [9]
Eddie on 01/02/2016:
" I had a tee time booked for 9 a.m. on New Year's Day. The practice range was closed which was understandable and expected. My 9 a.m. tee time was given to a huge group outing on this course. To be flexible and understanding I told the attendant that my party would be happy to move our tee time to the Myrtlewood Palmetto Course. The starter was very nice and explained the rules and restrictions completely. On the third hole, a group of golfers were behind us. The group behind us yelled and were rude to our group as we approached to hit our balls. Mind you that the course was under water and was cart path only, also understandable and great decision by the greens staff. So we let the inconsiderate group play through. On the eight hole on our second shots the ranger told us we needed to keep up with the group on front of us. I even carried my bag on several holes so that we could stay within the pace of play. We were only maybe five minutes slower than we should have been. I told him we let them play through he said he didn't care we needed to keep up with their pace. They were running through the water soaked fairways to get to their balls. It would seem to me that the ranger would know that the play was going to be a little slower than usual because of the course conditions and restriction. The reason I know this is because I work a golf club and know how things work. My group paid $54 each to play. Our decision to do so, is it to much to ask that a ranger know the conditions and restrictions and be a little considerate to guests of the club. The cart we were assigned to was dirty, it had burnt matches and cigar wrappers in the cubbies of the cart. I would not recommend this course or courses to anyone ever. They seem to be just in the business to get the money and have no clue about customer service. If anyone chooses to play at either of these courses, just know not to expect to much from the staff. We left and didn't finish our round of golf. "
OVERALL SCORE: [4]
Bryan (Roanoke Rapids, NC) on 11/18/2014:
" Excellent. "
OVERALL SCORE: [9]
Wendell (Columbia, SC) on 05/23/2014:
" Great course "
OVERALL SCORE: [9]
Lloyd (Toms River, NJ) on 05/23/2014:
" Good "
OVERALL SCORE: [8]
Jonathan (Elizabethtown, TN) on 04/30/2014:
" Good "
OVERALL SCORE: [7]
Ron (Disputanta, VA) on 04/17/2014:
" Same as above "
OVERALL SCORE: [4]
Peter (Demorestville, ON) on 04/08/2014:
" Great "
OVERALL SCORE: [9]
Thomas on 04/08/2014:
" Good "
OVERALL SCORE: [6]
David (Candler, NC) on 03/14/2014:
" Scored the fairways and the greens low on the survey due to the fact the course was extremely wet. Nothing that could be controlled. I walked about 700 miles that day as well due to the entire course being cart path only, again due to excessive rain. "
OVERALL SCORE: [7]
Daniel (Whiteville, NC) on 03/14/2014:
" OK "
OVERALL SCORE: [6]
Charles (Charleston, SC) on 12/04/2013:
" Remarkable "
OVERALL SCORE: [10]
Mike (Ottawa, ON) on 11/19/2013:
" Good "
OVERALL SCORE: [7]
Joe (Whitby, ON) on 10/14/2013:
" First time playing but enjoyed it enough to definitely come back "
OVERALL SCORE: [8]
John (Providence Forge, VA) on 10/14/2013:
" Slow play: 5+ hours. Too many holes with same dog-leg right layouts. "
OVERALL SCORE: [8]
Judy and James (Weatherford, TX) on 09/27/2013:
" This course was a little harder than we thought it would be but it was a beautiful course, well taken care of and we had a great time. "
OVERALL SCORE: [9]
Eb (Asheville, NC) on 08/20/2013:
" Myrtlewood does a nice job handling golfing groups such as outs "
OVERALL SCORE: [9]
Seth on 08/09/2013:
" Played 8-2-13. 7:56 am tee time. Great course and layout. Loved the course and would go back. Challenging but not too hard. Bunkers were not in best shape but rained hard the day before. Greens nice. Fairways in good shape. Fun to play and we got done in 4 hours and 10 minutes and it was packed. Did not get anything in grill but grabbed a beer from cart girl. A couple fun holes. Enjoyed the par 5 on the back where you could cut the dogleg right with drive over tall tree and go for it in 2. Must say it is only course I have played where bag attendants don't unload clubs. Didn't mind it, but found it odd. Maybe because they are so busy. I can't wait to play the Palmetto course on next trip "
OVERALL SCORE: [8]
Lane (Greensboro, NC) on 07/29/2013:
" Great staff, including grill. Course is good condition. Very enjoyable time. Water was a challenge for me (lost 4 balls due to my slice). Thanks for participation in Prime Time. "
OVERALL SCORE: [9]
Joseph (Lexington, NC) on 07/01/2013:
" The course was in excellent condition. "
OVERALL SCORE: [9]
Scott (Davidson, NC) on 05/20/2013:
" You have no Marshall I have never taken that long to play a game in my life 5 1/2 hours for 18 hole s that is wrong. You apparently over book your course won't play there again "
OVERALL SCORE: [8]
Timothy (Shrewsbury, PA) on 05/01/2013:
" OK "
OVERALL SCORE: [5]
Scott (Rural Retreat, VA) on 04/30/2013:
" Good "
OVERALL SCORE: [8]
Dave (Pittsburg, PA) on 04/29/2013:
" All around perfect for the course I was their at 7:15 no staff the help with the clubs doing other things. "
OVERALL SCORE: [9]
Deborah (Ypsilanti, MI) on 04/29/2013:
" We had a great time and would definitely come back again "
OVERALL SCORE: [9]
Jack (Hamstead, NC) on 04/29/2013:
" Great "
OVERALL SCORE: [8]
Randall (New Castle, PA) on 04/22/2013:
" Outstanding "
OVERALL SCORE: [10]
Edmond (Marinette, WI) on 04/12/2013:
" I think that the overall experience with your club was awesome. We were treated like members. "
OVERALL SCORE: [9]
Gary (Langhorne, PA) on 04/11/2013:
" Great Staff that was polite, knowledgeable and eager to help make the overall golf experience wonderful. Have visited both courses many times with the top conditions. Would recommend for all levels of playing ability. "
OVERALL SCORE: [10]
Frank (Middletown, NJ) on 04/01/2013:
" Course was well manicured. Maybe the restauranat area could use a facelift ? "
OVERALL SCORE: [9]
Chet (Telford, PA) on 04/01/2013:
" Course in good shape, but play too slow. "
OVERALL SCORE: [7]
Paul (Oakville, ON) on 02/26/2013:
" Overall enjoyable experience "
OVERALL SCORE: [9]
Keith Grass Lake, MI) on 02/19/2013:
" Busy course we only played nine holes because we arrived late after long drive from michigan. "
OVERALL SCORE: [9]
Kenny (Waynesboro, VA) on 01/26/2013:
" Second time playing this course and it is one that I would come back and play again. "
OVERALL SCORE: [9]
Kenny (Ware, MA) on 01/25/2013:
" Second time playing this course and it is one that I would come back and play again. "
OVERALL SCORE: [9]
Walter (Atkinson, NC) on 01/13/2013:
" Have played both Myrtlewood courses and both times the experience was a very good one. I expect I will be back in the near future. "
OVERALL SCORE: [9]
Doug (Deseronto, ON) on 12/04/2012:
" I really like this course, it is always in good shape. Pro shop staff and starters are very good. "
OVERALL SCORE: [9]
Robert (Dade City, FL) on 11/11/2012:
" Very nice course - will be back! "
OVERALL SCORE: [9]
Douglas (Hillsdale, NJ) on 11/04/2012:
" Though not a long course, the bunkering and presence of water provided plenty of challenge for my level of play. "
OVERALL SCORE: [9]
Kevin (Janesville, WI) on 10/22/2012:
" This is our favorite at Myrtlewood. Shorter than Palmetto, we had many more chances at hitting the greens in reg. Just beautiful! "
OVERALL SCORE: [9]
Ben (Charlottesville, VA) on 10/13/2012:
" A fun, but challenging course. Well kept, with an excellent staff. They do it right! "
OVERALL SCORE: [10]
David (Shelton, CT) on 10/13/2012:
" Play moved along. Open airways very forgiving if you didn't hit is straight. "
OVERALL SCORE: [7]
George (Bernville, PA) on 10/09/2012:
" Greens could be healthier. "
OVERALL SCORE: [7]
John (West Des Moines, IA) on 10/05/2012:
" Great course in excellent condition. Lots of bunkers of which I found most. Wide fairways made the course playable for all. My only complaint is the greens were very slow!!! "
OVERALL SCORE: [9]
See All 323 reviews »

Palmetto Reviews

OVERALL SCORE: [8.2]

  • Tees:
    [8]
  • Greens:
    [8]
  • Fairways:
    [8]
  • Proshop:
    [8]
  • Grill:
    [8]
  • Staff:
    [8]
Based on 616 reviews »

Latest Reviews from Myrtle Beach Golf Insider



Andrew M on 05/13/2018:
" Really good course, great service, really enjoyed both courses and the people. "
OVERALL SCORE: [10]
Eddie H on 01/15/2018:
" Couses in good shape for Jan grens were slow "
OVERALL SCORE: [8]
Mike D.(Oneida,NY) on 02/28/2017:
" This is a nice course in very nice condition. The fairways are great. Greens rolled well. The course has many challenging holes, but is fair for golfers of all levels.The staff is very friendly. Definitely a must play. "
OVERALL SCORE: [10]
John D on 01/25/2017:
" A great layout and a fun course to play for all level of golfers. Fair but lurking trouble with water and some strategic placed bunkers. The course was wet due to the last 2 days of rain and was cart path only. Fairways are thin but the greens are immaculate for this time of year (good job). My only issue with this outing was that we were told not asked about a single joining our twosome than on the first tee another golfer showed up right when I was hitting my tee shot...lack of courtesy from the course and golfer! "
OVERALL SCORE: [7]
Jeff on 05/23/2016:
" This place is great, top notch course. Great lawn ball play, greens were fast and consistent. Staff very nice and professional. Look forward to coming back. "
OVERALL SCORE: [10]
Ted on 04/09/2016:
" Tee boxes, fairways & greens are in excellent shape. Greens would be better if golfers would fix their ball marks. Repaired recent ball marks on most greens. Staff was very nice. 17 & 18 are great finishing holes along the waterway. Not an overly difficult layout but a enough water & sand to keep you honest. Pace of play for this time of the year was acceptable. A must play. "
OVERALL SCORE: [9]
Mike (Oneida,NY) on 02/15/2016:
" Staff very friendly upon arrival. Was a cold windy day, but course was in great shape. Greens putted very true, but were a little slower than some other courses, not bad though. Interesting layout, challenging but fair. Clubhouse gal was very friendly and attentive. Definitely be back again. "
OVERALL SCORE: [9]
Gerard (Commack, NY) on 12/08/2014:
" Very good. "
OVERALL SCORE: [8]
Mike (Mississacqau, ON) on 12/04/2014:
" Really like this course. "
OVERALL SCORE: [8]
Corey (Norfolk, VA) on 12/03/2014:
" Slow play because they don't turn you away if you don't have a tee time. Very nice course. Just didn't like waiting on every shot. "
OVERALL SCORE: [10]
Sabrina & Guest (Fonthill, ON) on 11/25/2014:
" Great Course! "
OVERALL SCORE: [9]
Oscar on 11/20/2014:
" I am a 77 year young senior citizen with an 18 handicap. I enjoyed playing this course and plan on playing its sister course when I visit Myrtle Beach Next Year. The course was in very good shape for my November tee time. "
OVERALL SCORE: [9]
Danny (Bonita Springs, FL) on 11/18/2014:
" Really enjoyed the digital caddie. Great staff in the pro-shop just as well as the cart attendants. "
OVERALL SCORE: [9]
Robert (Leechburg, PA) on 11/16/2014:
" Excellent. "
OVERALL SCORE: [9]
M/M John (Wasaga, ON) on 11/16/2014:
" Very good. "
OVERALL SCORE: [8]
Dan (Lenoir, NC) on 11/15/2014:
" Excellent. "
OVERALL SCORE: [9]
Robert (Richmond, QC) on 11/13/2014:
" Those two courses were very clean .I'll recommend to my friends. "
OVERALL SCORE: [8]
Jerry (Monticello, GA) on 11/12/2014:
" Course was in very good shape and greens were nice to putt on. "
OVERALL SCORE: [8]
Nick (Mechanicsburg, PA) on 11/10/2014:
" Excellent. "
OVERALL SCORE: [9]
Kevin (Kitchener, ON) on 10/30/2014:
" Good. "
OVERALL SCORE: [7]
William (Bethany Beach, DE) on 10/27/2014:
" Good. "
OVERALL SCORE: [7]
Karen (Arcade, NY) on 10/21/2014:
" Everyone was very helpful ... only problem we encountered was we were told snack bars on certain holes but they were not open. "
OVERALL SCORE: [9]
Pat (Simpsonville, SC) on 10/21/2014:
" (Would like to have known prior to play about the) green condition. "
OVERALL SCORE: [5]
Robert (Horseheads, NY) on 10/16/2014:
" (Would like to have known prior to play) that they were going to pair us with another couple. "
OVERALL SCORE: [9]
Joseph (Murrells Inlet, SC) on 10/16/2014:
" All was good on the course. "
OVERALL SCORE: [9]
Joyce (E. Stroudsburg, PA) on 10/15/2014:
" Fantastic. "
OVERALL SCORE: [10]
Brandon (Kernersville, NC) on 10/14/2014:
" I liked the layout. #18 is a beautiful hole along the waterway. I was a little disappointed in the greens, slow and quite bumpy compared to other courses I played the same week. "
OVERALL SCORE: [7]
Nick on 10/09/2014:
" Great course, and in nice shape. Greens slow in mornings, but speed up as the day goes on. I'd recommend this to visitors, but don't make tee time via clubhouse...it is twice the price. "
OVERALL SCORE: [8]
Timothy (Aberdeen, NC) on 10/06/2014:
" I have played both the Palmetto and the Pines courses before but, I have never seen the Palmetto course in such great condition. "
OVERALL SCORE: [10]
Robert (Tullahoma, TN) on 10/04/2014:
" Easy course, open enough for average golfer. "
OVERALL SCORE: [7]
Richard (Downers Grove, IL) on 10/03/2014:
" I had a 2:45 tee time, although late should have allowed enough time to finish the course before dark. Play was slow and the ranger made no attempt to speed up play during the afternoon. He did come by late in the day to tell us that our cart had to be back in by 7:00. Driving by the 17th tee to return to the clubhouse by 7:00, there were 5 golf carts with players waiting to tee off, plus three sets of carts out playing the 18th hole. The slow play and lack of customer service will keep me from returning to this course - there are plenty of other courses in Myrtle Beach with faster play. "
OVERALL SCORE: [7]
Ed (Marydel, DE) on 09/24/2014:
" Though the course was busy, as a single, starter got me in earlier than my tee time. Ranger kept play moving and our foursome finished in 4:15. "
OVERALL SCORE: [8]
Timothy (Worcester, MA) on 09/20/2014:
" All was good value "
OVERALL SCORE: [8]
Johnny (Cumberland, KY) on 09/17/2014:
" Good. "
OVERALL SCORE: [9]
Aaron (Russellville, AL) on 09/16/2014:
" Had a great time. "
OVERALL SCORE: [9]
Peter (Dorchester, MA) on 09/12/2014:
" Course conditions were very good. Good pace of play. "
OVERALL SCORE: [9]
Kevin (Heath, OH) on 09/11/2014:
" Excellent. "
OVERALL SCORE: [9]
Perry (Salem, NH) on 08/14/2014:
" The refreshment booths and restrooms at various locations along the course are very useful. "
OVERALL SCORE: [8]
Bryan (Whitby, ON) on 06/18/2014:
" Ok "
OVERALL SCORE: [9]
Robert (South Park, PA) on 06/12/2014:
" Course is pretty and well maintained. Te 18th hole on the Palmetto course is an awesome sight. "
OVERALL SCORE: [9]
James (Brazil, IN) on 06/10/2014:
" Greens were aerated on 5/28 so not completely healed but not bad. Tees and fairways were in good shape and the rough areas, which I visit often, were acceptable. Course was very fair but I still found the sand 7 times or so. "
OVERALL SCORE: [7]
William (West Chester, PA) on 06/09/2014:
" Pace of play "
OVERALL SCORE: [9]
Don (Toms River, NJ) on 06/09/2014:
" Never saw the cart girl on the front nine. Once on the back "
OVERALL SCORE: [7]
Robert (Bath, ON) on 06/09/2014:
" This is the tenth time I have golfed at this course, although more expensive than most it is always in excellent condition and fun to play "
OVERALL SCORE: [10]
Walter (Maple, ON) on 06/05/2014:
" Great for getting my first gamesin . convenient driving range. good sandwiches. played there 100 times. "
OVERALL SCORE: [7]
Gloria (Fort Washington, MD) on 06/05/2014:
" This was my first visit to Myrtle Beach and I enjoyed playign this course. I found it to be a good mixture of easy/challenging. "
OVERALL SCORE: [10]
Louis (Oakville, CT) on 06/05/2014:
" Reply Price "
OVERALL SCORE: [9]
Joshua on 06/05/2014:
" Na "
OVERALL SCORE: [8]
Harry (Acwoth, GA) on 06/02/2014:
" Greens were a little shabby. "
OVERALL SCORE: [7]
Francis (Boca Raton, FL) on 06/02/2014:
" Loved the views of the intracoastal waterway. Challenging but fair. "
OVERALL SCORE: [7]
See All 616 reviews »