Myrtlewood Golf Club Reviews

The Myrtle Beach Golf Insider is a golf course review site developed for golfers, by golfers. Myrtle Beach National's King's North, South Creek & West Course courses are three of dozens of area layouts that receive reviews based on course conditions, playability and customer service. Below is a sampling of Myrtle Beach National's most recent reviews.

PineHills Reviews

OVERALL SCORE: [8.3]

  • Tees:
    [8]
  • Greens:
    [8]
  • Fairways:
    [8]
  • Proshop:
    [9]
  • Grill:
    [8]
  • Staff:
    [9]
Based on 321 reviews »

Last 20 Reviews from Myrtle Beach Golf Insider



Jim on 08/10/2016:
"Attempted to play this course in the early afternoon. The rate was much higher than any of the other courses in the area, $58.00. But what's worse is the treatment outsiders receive from the staff in the pro shop. Very rude very pompous and obvious they don't want outsiders playing their course. It's to bad because up until a couple years ago my kids and I would sink several hundreds of dollars into playing the course while staying at Myrtle Wood for a couple weeks. Not anymore. After the 2nd year being treated like garbage by the pro shop staff we will no longer spend any money there. There are too many options close by."
OVERALL SCORE: [ 5.83]
  • Tees:
    [6]
  • Greens:
    [7]
  • Fairways:
    [7]
  • Proshop:
    [7]
  • Grill:
    [7]
  • Staff:
    [1]
Reid on 06/23/2016:
"Called pro shop for tee time on Palmetto course. Shop said greens 80% heeled after maintenance. Very disappointed after we loaded carts and were sent to Pine Hills course. I tried to politely voice my concern, but was totally ignored. Would have never played Pine Hills with so many other choices for less money and better layout. Greens in horrible condition. Fairways and tee boxes very nice, but greens not even close to 80% heeled."
OVERALL SCORE: [ 6.17]
  • Tees:
    [9]
  • Greens:
    [1]
  • Fairways:
    [10]
  • Proshop:
    [7]
  • Grill:
    [9]
  • Staff:
    [1]
Jeff on 04/04/2016:
"Well maintained course, nice place to play early on in your golf trip. Great view off the deck for lunch. Pro shop friendly and well stocked."
OVERALL SCORE: [ 8.67]
  • Tees:
    [8]
  • Greens:
    [9]
  • Fairways:
    [9]
  • Proshop:
    [9]
  • Grill:
    [9]
  • Staff:
    [8]
Timothy on 02/03/2016:
"The course was wet, so cart path only. The staff were pleasant to deal with which makes for a nice day. It's very wet so it plays long. The greens were a little sluggish but playable. The only thing that was negative was the guy SMOKING in the crowd at the bag drop, I don't think that the staff should allow smoking near the customers."
OVERALL SCORE: [ 8.50]
  • Tees:
    [8]
  • Greens:
    [9]
  • Fairways:
    [8]
  • Proshop:
    [9]
  • Grill:
    [8]
  • Staff:
    [9]
Eddie on 01/02/2016:
"I had a tee time booked for 9 a.m. on New Year's Day. The practice range was closed which was understandable and expected. My 9 a.m. tee time was given to a huge group outing on this course. To be flexible and understanding I told the attendant that my party would be happy to move our tee time to the Myrtlewood Palmetto Course. The starter was very nice and explained the rules and restrictions completely. On the third hole, a group of golfers were behind us. The group behind us yelled and were rude to our group as we approached to hit our balls. Mind you that the course was under water and was cart path only, also understandable and great decision by the greens staff. So we let the inconsiderate group play through. On the eight hole on our second shots the ranger told us we needed to keep up with the group on front of us. I even carried my bag on several holes so that we could stay within the pace of play. We were only maybe five minutes slower than we should have been. I told him we let them play through he said he didn't care we needed to keep up with their pace. They were running through the water soaked fairways to get to their balls. It would seem to me that the ranger would know that the play was going to be a little slower than usual because of the course conditions and restriction. The reason I know this is because I work a golf club and know how things work. My group paid $54 each to play. Our decision to do so, is it to much to ask that a ranger know the conditions and restrictions and be a little considerate to guests of the club. The cart we were assigned to was dirty, it had burnt matches and cigar wrappers in the cubbies of the cart. I would not recommend this course or courses to anyone ever. They seem to be just in the business to get the money and have no clue about customer service. If anyone chooses to play at either of these courses, just know not to expect to much from the staff. We left and didn't finish our round of golf."
OVERALL SCORE: [ 4.17]
  • Tees:
    [6]
  • Greens:
    [6]
  • Fairways:
    [6]
  • Proshop:
    [5]
  • Grill:
    [1]
  • Staff:
    [1]
Peter on 10/11/2015:
"One of my favorite courses in Myrtle Beach. Have played it on my last two trips and will continue to include it every year. Excellent layout and a good challenge for every type of golfer. All staff very friendly and helpful with local info on the course."
OVERALL SCORE: [10.00]
  • Tees:
    [10]
  • Greens:
    [10]
  • Fairways:
    [10]
  • Proshop:
    [10]
  • Grill:
    [10]
  • Staff:
    [10]
Dave on 08/01/2015:
"Staff very good. Course in great shape."
OVERALL SCORE: [ 9.50]
  • Tees:
    [9]
  • Greens:
    [10]
  • Fairways:
    [10]
  • Proshop:
    [9]
  • Grill:
    [10]
  • Staff:
    [9]
Karl (Winston Salem, NC) on 12/20/2014:
"Great day of golf. Ended our trip with this wonderful course. We will be returning to play its sister course on our next golf trip."
OVERALL SCORE: [10.00]
  • Tees:
    [10]
  • Greens:
    [10]
  • Fairways:
    [10]
  • Proshop:
    [10]
  • Grill:
    [10]
  • Staff:
    [10]
Gerard (Commack, NY) on 12/08/2014:
"Very good."
OVERALL SCORE: [ 7.50]
  • Tees:
    [8]
  • Greens:
    [8]
  • Fairways:
    [8]
  • Proshop:
    [7]
  • Grill:
    [5]
  • Staff:
    [9]
Sabrina & Guest (Fonthill, ON) on 11/25/2014:
"Great Course!"
OVERALL SCORE: [ 9.00]
  • Tees:
    [9]
  • Greens:
    [9]
  • Fairways:
    [9]
  • Proshop:
    [9]
  • Grill:
    [9]
  • Staff:
    [9]
Bryan (Roanoke Rapids, NC) on 11/18/2014:
"Excellent."
OVERALL SCORE: [ 8.50]
  • Tees:
    [9]
  • Greens:
    [9]
  • Fairways:
    [9]
  • Proshop:
    [8]
  • Grill:
    [7]
  • Staff:
    [9]
M/M John (Wasaga, ON) on 11/16/2014:
"Very good."
OVERALL SCORE: [ 8.00]
  • Tees:
    [8]
  • Greens:
    [8]
  • Fairways:
    [8]
  • Proshop:
    [8]
  • Grill:
    [8]
  • Staff:
    [8]
Pete (Dayton, OH) on 11/16/2014:
"Very good."
OVERALL SCORE: [ 8.50]
  • Tees:
    [9]
  • Greens:
    [9]
  • Fairways:
    [8]
  • Proshop:
    [8]
  • Grill:
    [9]
  • Staff:
    [8]
Brian (Toronto, ON) on 11/11/2014:
"Very good."
OVERALL SCORE: [ 8.50]
  • Tees:
    [8]
  • Greens:
    [8]
  • Fairways:
    [8]
  • Proshop:
    [9]
  • Grill:
    [9]
  • Staff:
    [9]
Steve (Mount Pleasant, SC) on 11/11/2014:
"Outstanding."
OVERALL SCORE: [10.00]
  • Tees:
    [10]
  • Greens:
    [10]
  • Fairways:
    [10]
  • Proshop:
    [10]
  • Grill:
    [10]
  • Staff:
    [10]
Brent (Oakville, ON) on 11/10/2014:
"The bag drop staff were some of the worst ever. There were two on duty and in the hour that I was there they didn't speak to one another once."
OVERALL SCORE: [ 7.33]
  • Tees:
    [9]
  • Greens:
    [9]
  • Fairways:
    [9]
  • Proshop:
    [8]
  • Grill:
    [8]
  • Staff:
    [1]
Brian (St. Eustache, Quebec) on 11/03/2014:
"Wonderful course."
OVERALL SCORE: [10.00]
  • Tees:
    [10]
  • Greens:
    [10]
  • Fairways:
    [10]
  • Proshop:
    [10]
  • Grill:
    [10]
  • Staff:
    [10]
Kim (Hamilton, ON) on 10/28/2014:
"Excellent."
OVERALL SCORE: [ 9.00]
  • Tees:
    [9]
  • Greens:
    [9]
  • Fairways:
    [9]
  • Proshop:
    [9]
  • Grill:
    [9]
  • Staff:
    [9]
William (Bethany Beach, DE) on 10/27/2014:
"Good."
OVERALL SCORE: [ 6.00]
  • Tees:
    [6]
  • Greens:
    [6]
  • Fairways:
    [7]
  • Proshop:
    [6]
  • Grill:
    [6]
  • Staff:
    [5]
Fred (Bethany Beach, DE) on 10/26/2014:
"Course plays longer than you are led to believe, would be nice to know. Course has very deep bunkers around and before holes, another feature it would have been nice to know."
OVERALL SCORE: [ 8.83]
  • Tees:
    [9]
  • Greens:
    [9]
  • Fairways:
    [9]
  • Proshop:
    [9]
  • Grill:
    [8]
  • Staff:
    [9]
See All 316 reviews »

Palmetto Reviews

OVERALL SCORE: [8.2]

  • Tees:
    [8]
  • Greens:
    [8]
  • Fairways:
    [8]
  • Proshop:
    [8]
  • Grill:
    [8]
  • Staff:
    [8]
Based on 612 reviews »

Last 20 Reviews from Myrtle Beach Golf Insider



Mike D.(Oneida,NY) on 02/28/2017:
"This is a nice course in very nice condition. The fairways are great. Greens rolled well. The course has many challenging holes, but is fair for golfers of all levels.The staff is very friendly. Definitely a must play."
OVERALL SCORE: [ 9.67]
  • Tees:
    [10]
  • Greens:
    [9]
  • Fairways:
    [10]
  • Proshop:
    [10]
  • Grill:
    [9]
  • Staff:
    [10]
John D on 01/25/2017:
"A great layout and a fun course to play for all level of golfers. Fair but lurking trouble with water and some strategic placed bunkers. The course was wet due to the last 2 days of rain and was cart path only. Fairways are thin but the greens are immaculate for this time of year (good job). My only issue with this outing was that we were told not asked about a single joining our twosome than on the first tee another golfer showed up right when I was hitting my tee shot...lack of courtesy from the course and golfer!"
OVERALL SCORE: [ 7.17]
  • Tees:
    [10]
  • Greens:
    [10]
  • Fairways:
    [8]
  • Proshop:
    [7]
  • Grill:
    [6]
  • Staff:
    [2]
David on 07/17/2016:
"The course is in nice shape at the moment. I would definitely recommend playing here."
OVERALL SCORE: [ 8.50]
  • Tees:
    [8]
  • Greens:
    [9]
  • Fairways:
    [9]
  • Proshop:
    [8]
  • Grill:
    [9]
  • Staff:
    [8]
Jeff on 05/23/2016:
"This place is great, top notch course. Great lawn ball play, greens were fast and consistent. Staff very nice and professional. Look forward to coming back."
OVERALL SCORE: [ 9.83]
  • Tees:
    [10]
  • Greens:
    [10]
  • Fairways:
    [10]
  • Proshop:
    [10]
  • Grill:
    [9]
  • Staff:
    [10]
Ted on 04/09/2016:
"Tee boxes, fairways & greens are in excellent shape. Greens would be better if golfers would fix their ball marks. Repaired recent ball marks on most greens. Staff was very nice. 17 & 18 are great finishing holes along the waterway. Not an overly difficult layout but a enough water & sand to keep you honest. Pace of play for this time of the year was acceptable. A must play."
OVERALL SCORE: [ 8.83]
  • Tees:
    [9]
  • Greens:
    [9]
  • Fairways:
    [9]
  • Proshop:
    [9]
  • Grill:
    [8]
  • Staff:
    [9]
Bob F. on 03/27/2016:
"Unfortunately only got 9 holes in due to rain. Course was fair and playable. Greens could use a little work as they had several rough spots. One of the few courses that did not have any hole map or yardage signs at their tees. The pro shop also did not have any yardage books. That makes for play to become difficult and slow for players unfamiliar with the course. Will give it another try next year to see if conditions have improved."
OVERALL SCORE: [ 7.67]
  • Tees:
    [8]
  • Greens:
    [6]
  • Fairways:
    [8]
  • Proshop:
    [8]
  • Grill:
    [7]
  • Staff:
    [9]
Mike (Oneida,NY) on 02/15/2016:
"Staff very friendly upon arrival. Was a cold windy day, but course was in great shape. Greens putted very true, but were a little slower than some other courses, not bad though. Interesting layout, challenging but fair. Clubhouse gal was very friendly and attentive. Definitely be back again."
OVERALL SCORE: [ 9.17]
  • Tees:
    [9]
  • Greens:
    [9]
  • Fairways:
    [8]
  • Proshop:
    [10]
  • Grill:
    [10]
  • Staff:
    [9]
Peter on 10/11/2015:
"A great course to play. This is one of my favourite courses to play when I come to Myrtle Beach. Staff on the course, and in the club house and restaurant are very friendly. A great challenge for all golfers."
OVERALL SCORE: [10.00]
  • Tees:
    [10]
  • Greens:
    [10]
  • Fairways:
    [10]
  • Proshop:
    [10]
  • Grill:
    [10]
  • Staff:
    [10]
Peter on 10/09/2015:
"Have played this course two years in a row now. The pace of play was good taking just over 4.5 hours to play. This was probably just because of the cart path only rule due to the major flooding which had occurred the weekend prior to us playing. The course was in great shape and will be back again to play next vacation."
OVERALL SCORE: [ 9.33]
  • Tees:
    [10]
  • Greens:
    [9]
  • Fairways:
    [10]
  • Proshop:
    [9]
  • Grill:
    [9]
  • Staff:
    [9]
Gary Lane on 08/16/2015:
"I have played here 4 of the last 5 years and each time I enjoy it more and more. Great course with a great staff. Greens were a tad slow for my taste, but great bang for your buck."
OVERALL SCORE: [ 8.00]
  • Tees:
    [8]
  • Greens:
    [7]
  • Fairways:
    [8]
  • Proshop:
    [8]
  • Grill:
    [9]
  • Staff:
    [8]
Frank on 04/20/2015:
"Very good layout in good condition. Greens rolled very well, but just a touch slow. Fair to all levels of players. Scenic holes on the Intracoastal Waterway. Good grill and pro shop."
OVERALL SCORE: [ 8.83]
  • Tees:
    [9]
  • Greens:
    [9]
  • Fairways:
    [9]
  • Proshop:
    [8]
  • Grill:
    [8]
  • Staff:
    [10]
Kyle (Edgewater, MD) on 12/14/2014:
"No complaints, everything was nice-BBQ at lunch was great. Everyone at course friendly and courteous."
OVERALL SCORE: [ 9.17]
  • Tees:
    [9]
  • Greens:
    [9]
  • Fairways:
    [9]
  • Proshop:
    [9]
  • Grill:
    [9]
  • Staff:
    [10]
Gerard (Commack, NY) on 12/08/2014:
"Very good."
OVERALL SCORE: [ 7.50]
  • Tees:
    [9]
  • Greens:
    [8]
  • Fairways:
    [7]
  • Proshop:
    [7]
  • Grill:
    [6]
  • Staff:
    [8]
Glenn (Bloomingdale, IL) on 12/08/2014:
"Favorable and above average conditions, friendly starters, and a sporty, playable course. Wide fairways made it an excellent starter course for our group, since most had not played golf for 2-3 weeks given Midwest weather."
OVERALL SCORE: [ 8.83]
  • Tees:
    [9]
  • Greens:
    [9]
  • Fairways:
    [9]
  • Proshop:
    [8]
  • Grill:
    [8]
  • Staff:
    [10]
Mike (Mississacqau, ON) on 12/04/2014:
"Really like this course."
OVERALL SCORE: [ 7.67]
  • Tees:
    [8]
  • Greens:
    [8]
  • Fairways:
    [7]
  • Proshop:
    [8]
  • Grill:
    [8]
  • Staff:
    [7]
Corey (Norfolk, VA) on 12/03/2014:
"Slow play because they don't turn you away if you don't have a tee time. Very nice course. Just didn't like waiting on every shot."
OVERALL SCORE: [10.00]
  • Tees:
    [10]
  • Greens:
    [10]
  • Fairways:
    [10]
  • Proshop:
    [10]
  • Grill:
    [10]
  • Staff:
    [10]
Richard & Cynthia (Canton, OH) on 12/03/2014:
"Very slow play; too many twosomes mixed in with groups. Needed to be paired up."
OVERALL SCORE: [ 9.50]
  • Tees:
    [10]
  • Greens:
    [10]
  • Fairways:
    [10]
  • Proshop:
    [9]
  • Grill:
    [8]
  • Staff:
    [10]
Sabrina & Guest (Fonthill, ON) on 11/25/2014:
"Great Course!"
OVERALL SCORE: [ 9.00]
  • Tees:
    [9]
  • Greens:
    [9]
  • Fairways:
    [9]
  • Proshop:
    [9]
  • Grill:
    [9]
  • Staff:
    [9]
Mike (Salisbury, MD) on 11/23/2014:
"Definitely enjoyed Palmetto course. Conditions were excellent. We thoroughly enjoyed our round!!"
OVERALL SCORE: [10.00]
  • Tees:
    [10]
  • Greens:
    [10]
  • Fairways:
    [10]
  • Proshop:
    [10]
  • Grill:
    [10]
  • Staff:
    [10]
Oscar on 11/20/2014:
"I am a 77 year young senior citizen with an 18 handicap. I enjoyed playing this course and plan on playing its sister course when I visit Myrtle Beach Next Year. The course was in very good shape for my November tee time."
OVERALL SCORE: [ 8.50]
  • Tees:
    [8]
  • Greens:
    [9]
  • Fairways:
    [9]
  • Proshop:
    [8]
  • Grill:
    [9]
  • Staff:
    [8]
See All 592 reviews »